Bold Iowa Climate Hall of Fame Awards

Wednesday, May 29, 2019 — 1:00 p.m. CT
Contact: Ed Fallon at (515) 238-6404 or [email protected]

Bold Iowa Climate Hall of Fame Awards
Six candidates to receive awards for positive (or not-so-positive) action on climate

CEDAR RAPIDS, IOWA — On Sunday, June 9, at 1:00 p.m., Bold Iowa will host the Climate Hall of Fame Awards in front of the DoubleTree by Hilton Cedar Rapids, 350 1st Ave NE. The event coincides with the Iowa Democratic Party Hall of Fame Celebration at the same venue. That event begins at 2:00, and 17 presidential candidates are scheduled to appear.

Bold Iowa will present climate awards to six candidates. Award recipients will not be announced in advance and are not expected to appear at the event. Three awards go to candidates offering positive contributions on climate. The other three go to candidates who aren’t there yet.

1. MVP (Most Vocal Proponent) Award
2. Rookie of the Year Award
3. Most Improved Politician Award
4. Friend of Fracking Award
5. DAPL Dodger Award
6. [name of the final award TBD]

“The Iowa Caucus season is long,” noted Bold Iowa director, Ed Fallon. “Candidates have plenty of time to improve their performance. We sincerely hope every one of them becomes a climate champion between now and the Iowa Caucuses on February 3rd.”

Since January, Bold Iowa’s Climate Bird Dog campaign has signed up 250 Iowans to encourage candidates to embrace urgent action to address the climate crisis. Supporters have attended over 100 events to monitor candidates’ speeches, question them on climate and related concerns, display signs, and dramatize the threat of extinction by dressing as penguins.

Bold Iowa’s mission is to build rural-urban coalitions to (1) fight climate change, (2) prevent the abuse of eminent domain, (3) protect Iowa’s soil, air, and water, (4) defend the rights of farmers, landowners, and Indigenous communities, and (5) promote non-industrial renewable energy.

# # #